Stops & Shops
Photos & VideoVisit the Turquoise Trail online with our photo and video galleries
View Photos »
View Videos »
In 1825, Golden was the site of the first gold rush west of the Mississippi, before the California and Colorado gold rushes. Originally called Real de San Francisco, around 1880 several large mining companies moved in and changed the name to Golden. The yield was disappointing and the population dwindled. Mining is all but gone from the area, but Golden survives. San Francisco de Assis Church has Mass Saturday afternoons at 4:00. (505) 471-1562.
Fiesta de San Francisco de Assis - 1st Saturday of October 11:00 - 3:00 pm. The annual fiesta at the historic church in Golden will begin with Mass, followed by a procession lead by Matachines dancers. Graves in the cemetery will be blessed, and then the procession will continue around the area and return to the church. This ritual drama originated in medievial Spain. Food and raffle tickets will be for sale, and a cake walk will complete the day of celebration of the feast of Saint Francis of Assisi. (505) 471-1562.
Click here to see photos of Golden
Golden, NM 87047
View Website »
Family owned and operated since 1918. Henderson's carries high quality, competitively priced Native American arts and crafts.Complete details & photos of Henderson Store »
Join Our Email List
June live music events at The Mine Shaft Tavern ~ Cultural Gem of the Coal Mining District.
Event details » View all events »
National Scenic BywayOn June 15, 2000 the Turquoise Trail received designation as a National Scenic Byway from the The National Scenic Byways Program after completing a comprehensive corridor management plan.
The plan is available for review here »
Take a moment to visit our other friends.Visit our connections »